Omikuji- Paper Fortunes

Our first few days in Japan were spent in a hotel in the Asakusa area of Tokyo – great for first-timers as it is not one of the busiest areas but has a ‘local feel’ and great vibes. It is on Tokyo’s east side and historically the home of the traders and skilled craftspeople during the feudal Edo period (1603-1868) and it’s also home to the Sensō-ji Shrine, Tokyo’s most visited.  I’d read about the Omikuji, or paper fortunes, at the entrances to shrines so decided to try my luck on our very first evening.
Here’s what to do:

IMG_2178

Japan is well known for its vending machines and you get your paper fortune from what could be described as an analogue version of these machines!

I put my ¥100 coin in the slot, picked up the metal canister, prayed, shook it and then pulled out a stick.

IMG_2179
I managed to decipher the number engraved in kanji on it then matched the number to the relevant drawer, pulled out the piece of paper inside….. to then read what I hoped would be a wonderful fortune.

IMG_2180

 

Beginners’ luck…….unfortunately not! I can’t even remember what it said, it was so bad I shut it out of my mind! So I duly tied the fortune (or lack of it!) to the bars and walked away.

IMG_2181

Luckily we’d read the instructions and believed that we could carve out our own fortune – which we duly did for the rest of the trip (and we didn’t try any more Omikuji again!)

…..and we went to look around the shrine, beautifully lit by night.

IMG_2182

Leave a Reply

